Peace in nature & a Teton Sports giveaway!!!

John Muir once said “In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.”  This simple statement is something that I find to be very true.  I have found that just getting out for a short walk, trail run, or hike in the mountains and forest near me can clear mind while centering my soul and heart better than just about anything else I know.

Recently my friend Katie from Adventure-Inspired wrote about something very similar saying that she finds even a short walk in the woods “restorative.”  She also posited the question of why we don’t get out and do things like it more often.

We all lead busy lives and technology can definitely suck up the little extra time we have (ironic that I say that while typing on a computer); however, I think it is truly important to make time to do things that give us peace and help us reach our own personal center.  For me, that is time spent in nature.

My "I'm out in nature" happy face

My “I’m out in nature” happy face

This morning was a prime example; I knew I had tons of stuff that had piled up on my to-do list around the house, but I had a yearning to be with nature (not to mention the two pleading furry faces begging me to do something with them!).  So what did I do?  We jumped in the car and went out to a trail I had run and hiked over a dozen times.  I knew every twist and turn by heart but the dusting of snow on far off mountains and the crisp contrast of the green grass against reds of the boulders and hillsides reminded me that even those things we are familiar with can be seen in a new light.

I have run past this before but never took the time to notice this tree's beauty

I have run past this before but never took the time to notice this tree’s beauty

The added beauty from the dusting of snow created an entirely new view

The added beauty from the dusting of snow created an entirely new view

Sometimes people say even if they could find or make the time for a hike, they just don’t have the right gear….STOP RIGHT THERE!  I am here to be your fairy godmother if that is the case :)  I want to see everyone have the chance to get out and be in nature, so if you need a little help, here is your chance to win one of two Teton Sports Summit 1500 daypacks.

Yes, that is right! I am giving away TWO of these very sweet packs (which you likely know is my go-to daypack because it rocks), so jump on it and enter by answering the question below.  You can get another entry by following Teton Sports on Twitter (@TETONsports) or liking them on Facebook (Teton Sports) and leaving another comment below telling me you have done so.  Winners will be notified on Sunday, October 6th!

Such a good looking pack and super functional

Such a good looking pack and super functional

What adventures would you take the Summit 1500 on this fall and winter?

**Entries limited to the United States, Canada, and APO addresses**

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Terry Priest on September 28, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    Having several fall and winter trips planned, I would use this pack in ALL of them.
    First trip is Idaho in October for Scarywood at the amusement park and then hiking Mineral Ridge. On the way home we do the Ginko Petrified Forest here in Washington State.
    Second trip is to Whistler BC for some great hiking and early snowboarding for Thanksgiving.
    Our little Bavarian town of Leavenworth for my birthday, Christmas festivities and snowshoeing in December.
    February is Romp to Stop snowshoe 5k at Stevens Pass for Breast Cancer Awareness Month.
    Plus all the time we spend on our local trails hiking, biking, snowshoeing and backpacking.
    I promise to put it to good use.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Terry Priest on September 28, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    I follow on Twitter and like on Facebook.

    Reply

  3. An adventure to see my amazing friend Kristie, I would tuck my two kids in it, think they would fit

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jenn on September 28, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    I’m really trying to get some time off to do a nice little chunk of the Appalachian Trail this fall. Next summer will be the major hike but at least I’ll get a sense of it. This pack would be so much better than the one I have.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Katie on September 29, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Colorado, California? Minnesota, Arkansas? So hard to say I’m trapped in the Midwest, but within a days drive of plenty of adventures! I don’t have a single pack so this would be perfect and my poor boyfriend could quit being my pack mule ;)

    Reply

    • Regardless of if you one of these packs, you need to get yourself a pack! Even a small one will open up a whole new world for you, Katie. I know that sounds cheesy but if you love the outdoors at all, this will likely increase your ability to spend time in nature :)

      Reply

  6. Followed on twitter! Love the blog!

    Reply

  7. Oh, I have a few and this is just what’s already planned. =)

    – Rumney, NH camping + climbing trip.
    – Pawtuckaway climbing trip.
    – Mt. Major (Lakes Region, NH) winter snowshoe + camp trip with the dogs.
    – Pack Monadnock & Temple Mountain snowshoe/snowboard trip with the dogs.
    – White Mountains area winter snowshoe + camp trip.
    – Colorado trip. Not entirely sure exactly what we’re doing.

    PS – I love orange more than any other color. I’m slightly tweaking out over these bags!

    Reply

  8. Oh, and I had liked and followed Teton Sports long ago! Forgot to add that in.

    Reply

  9. On my first trek into the White Mountains in NH! And then out West to do some hiking with friends.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Shawn on September 29, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    This would be a great pack to take on my Mt. Washington trip! I woul d get a lot of other great use out of it also though.

    Reply

  11. Most of my adventures will happen right here on Long Island, where I take long day trips over dunes and through pine barrens and under oak forests. I feel the same way as you — there’s nothing more restorative to me than being outdoors, and I’ve made it such a habit that I get crabby and antsy when I go more than a few days without breathing some woods air!

    Reply

  12. Of course I would love to give this bad boy a try on my upcoming fall trip… so, just go ahead and send it my way – sorry everyone else you have wasted your time entering, the pack is mine.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Jenn on October 1, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    I am following Teton on twitter too.

    Reply

  14. I would take this pack hiking in Algonquin Park and the Adirondacks this fall. In winter I would take it iceclimbing in Calabogie and icefishing. And I would love to take it hiking on my honeymoon this coming summer. :)

    Reply

  15. I am following teton on twitter too :)

    Reply

  16. I would take it on my honeymoon trecking in Nepal

    Reply

  17. I would take it on my honeymoon backpacking in nepal

    Reply

  18. Posted by Terry Priest on October 6, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Who are the lucky winners? Good luck to all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

