In “The Battle of Life” be #InspiredByGreatness

Over my life I have been lucky to draw strength from various sources of inspiration as I battle tough times. Beautifully written words by poets and authors, the mystery of the ocean, the unbridled beauty of nature in its purest form, and people have all brought me motivation and encouragement to be the best Kristie possible. 

How can you not be inspired by the work, determination, & passion shown by world-class athletes?!

How can you not be inspired by the work, determination, & passion shown by world-class athletes?!

That last one, people, is what I find inspires me most; the greatness of each unique individual.  While I have been inspired by the works of many famous people, it is those who do things not for fame or glory but for the simple reason of pushing themselves beyond their own comfort zones that inspire me most.  Those who try new things, who face their fears, and who bolster others through unbelievable acts of kindness, those are the people who inspire me, and I am dang lucky enough to call them my friends and family!

Over the course of the Columbia Sportswear #OmniGames, I was inspired by my #omnifamily again and again.  The amazing smiles and upbeat attitude of Katie Boue and Aleya Littleton kept me happy and light.

Aleya always makes me smile :) (courtesy of Anne Carney)

Aleya always makes me smile :) (courtesy of Anne Carney)

The compassion shown by Gina Begin  & Ann Driggers  (as well as many others!) when they learned of my emotional struggles during the week, reminded me that love surrounds us at all times.

Gina, one of the sweetest, kindest hearts I have in mylife

Gina, one of the sweetest, kindest hearts I have in my life (courtesy of David Creech)

The ability to remain humble, even when clearly dominating the competition ;) is something that few people do well.  Beth Bault and Justin Lukasavige reminded me that true champions see themselves as normal people.

I dub Beth & Justin "Team Awesomesauce"

I dub Beth & Justin “Team Awesomesauce” (courtesy of David Creesh) 

With their try anything attitude, Eric Eagan and Heidi Henry pushed me to step outside my normal comforts.  They reminded me that you never know if you like something or are good at it until you have fun trying it!

Skiing is "fun"??

Skiing is “fun”?? (courtesy of David Creech)

If I had been delayed multiple times in my travels to Park City, I am not sure that I would have been as determined to complete every task thrown my way, but Michelle Eady sure was…and she rocked them!

Michelle is all smiles

Michelle is all smiles (courtesy of David Creech)

Again, I was inspired by the greatness that was the Columbia Sportswear.  You all never cease to amaze with the trips you put together, but more importantly with the true level of caring that you have for each person involved in those trips. 

Throughout the entire competition I was inspired by my partner Weston Shirey.  He had fun with everything he did; he cheered on everyone, not only me.  He was always willing to offer a smile, fist bump, high five, or hug.  As he flew by me on the slopes during a challenge to gain the most vertical feet as a team (basically ski or snowboard the most), he would whoop, give me encouraging words, and let me know he recognized how hard I was trying.

That is how I am #InspiredByGreatness.

This is how I am #InspiredByGreatness (courtesy of David Creech)

How are you #InspiredByGreatness in your everyday life?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Justin Lukasavige on January 15, 2014 at 9:57 am

    Amazing writeup, Kristie! Hanging out with you is always something I look forward to. Thanks for continue to inspire my pursuit of #tryingstuff.

    Reply

  2. Awww, thank you for the kind words. Something I love about the #omnifamily is that we each bring something unique to the table and I agree wholeheartedly about those you called out. And don’t forget yourself as a positive force in our family. Always love your smiles =)

    Reply

  3. :) You’re the sweetest, lady. Can’t wait to see you again, hopefully sooner than later!

    Reply

  4. Thanks for the kind words Kristie. It was SOO great to finally meet you! Wish we were able to hang out more often. Your smile is contagious :)

    Reply

  5. This was such a delight to read – your sincerity and kindness can be felt through the computer screen! <3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

