A Monkey in Love

I have been referred to as a monkey all of my life, mostly because of my high level of energy which causes me to bound around and climb things (at least this is the reason I tell myself people refer to me as such!).  When I first went to a climbing gym over 7 years ago in Seattle ( http://www.verticalworld.com/ ), I knew I found a missing link, a long lost love.

As fate would have it, I would lose this love again; not because of lack of desire but life got in my way, as did a toxic relationship, but we won’t go there…

This past August I renewed that love I let lay idle for nearly 5 years.  The first day I walked into Active Climbing (http://www.activeclimbing.com/ ) in Athens, GA I was nervous but so excited my friend Lily must have thought I was crazy. As a couple of military chics (former for me and current for her), we had both tried out our share of adventures.

Easy route for Lily

Over the next few months, my love and obsession with climbing was rekindled.  The nickname “monkey” or” spider monkey” has also happily found its way back to the lips of my friends when referring to me!

I have had the honor of introducing and sharing this love with several friends.  I even recently held my birthday party at my beloved second home (no I did not turn 6).  Some have given it a go once and decided it wasn’t for them.  Others have become members of the gym I now frequent 2-3 times a week.

My party people!

As my friend Megan, another military gal now happily obsessed with climbing, would put it, climbing is like life.  There are always new problems which will present themselves, but together with friends (and some badass experienced climbers at the gym) you can always find a way to the top of the problem!

Megan making it look so easy

So while I am not fan of the commerialism of today’s holiday, this is my version of a love letter to climbing.  Without you, I would be a monkey without a tree!

Me with my love

3 responses to this post.

  1. Funny I used to be called a monkey as a kid! Glad you found your way back to climbing and are enjoying the ride 🙂

    Reply

  2. Love it, Kristie! I’m honored to help fuel your obsessions 🙂

    Reply

  3. […] by the side of the road, rock climbing (if you really want to know more about that, check this out: A monkey in love).  As I began learning more about climbing and meeting amazing new friends, I started to learn […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

