Happy 10 Years USCGA Class of ’02!

Ten years ago today was a very eventful and exciting day.  I graduated from the United States Coast Guard Academy!  It was a day full of tears of joy and tears of sadness.  I was terrified at the idea of leaving behind friends that I had gone through so many things with.  From failed relationships, poor test grades, being molded into military men and women, and much more, I developed friendships which continue to stand the tests of time, distance, and life.

While I had many great friends and experiences, there were a few people who to this day I know would be there for me.  As we moved onto our careers as military officers, we were tested in physical, emotional, and mental ways.  All the while, we could find ways to connect.  From a wedding in Pittsburg to one in Massachusetts to a girls’ weekend in South Carolina, we continue to find ways to connect as our lives change and develope.

USCGA 02′ gang at a wedding in Mass. in 2006

Whether it was through a disastrous relationship, job woes, the excitement of moving on from the Coast Guard, I have always been able to turn to a small group of friends.  Mia, Regan, Malcolm, Brad, and Anya were and still are people who I love dearly.  I know I will always be able to count on these friends through both the peaks and valleys in the future (sorry about lack of old pictures…they are all packed up for the move!).

Me with Mia, Regan, and baby Jack at Malcolm’s wedding in 2009

Congratulations Class of 2002 and thank you all for the amazing experiences over the past decade (and the four years at USCGA, of course).  I have been honored to connect with so many of you over the ten years and find no matter how close we were or weren’t in college, we will always connect through shared experiences.  I am a richer person because of this.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ahh! what was I wearing??!!

    You said it all for me. Nothing to add. Love you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mia Tidden on May 23, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    Love love love you girls!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

