Wyoming Or Bust to Conquering Cody

Well it is official; I am a resident of Cody, Wyoming!  I know I have been silent on here for a bit as I was wrapping up my life in Athens and preparing for my trip westward.  The last week of May into the first few days of June I was going through a rollercoaster of emotion.  It was a sad week of goodbyes and final times of doing this or that.

Megan, Honza, & I during my final climb at Active Climbing

I was beyond lucky to have friends Brian, Ida, and Megan help Steve and I pack up my U-Haul after I finally got a truck (larger than reserved & over 2 ½ hours late!).  After picking my dad up from the airport and a final night of yumminess in Athens, it was time for me to say my hardest goodbyes.

Steve & Splash

My dad and I hit the road running driving for over 12 hours to make it to Kingdom City, MO the first night.

Sydney enjoying some open air

The next day had us passing through all of Nebraska and stayed in Cheyenne, WY.

Get it?!

The final leg of our journey was by far the most gorgeous part of the trip.  After getting off the interstate and heading west, we drove through the beauty of the Wind River Canyon and then began seeing the awe-inspiring sites of the Absaroka Mountains.  As we came down into the basin, I could not stop thinking how freakin’ lucky I am to get to live in this form of paradise!

Just gorgeous!

Sadly, there was a hiccup to that happiness later during the day on Tuesday.  As some of you may know, I rented a unit in a duplex sight unseen.  Since there aren’t many options for rentals allowing my furry canine companion, I jumped on a unit that looked good via video.  Well, upon entering the unit it was clear that it was trashed, rundown, and had big safety issues.  I lost it, and had my parents not been there to help me, I would have spent that entire night bawling my eyes out (a million thanks to you, Mom & Dad!).

While all of this turmoil was happening, we were welcomed to Cody by The Cody.  This great “green” hotel gave us an amazing rate for the first night in town and were generous enough to extend that same rate for a second night when we discovered our timeline would be set back a day.  With amazing breakfasts and stunning rooms, I highly recommend staying at The Cody!

I hope he doesn’t get too used to this!

After 6 ½ hours of cleaning and meeting with various people, we were finally able to unload and move me in on Thursday.  I am happy to announce that as of today, this place looks drastically different, and I have made it my own.

Before my folks had to head back to Wisconsin this morning, we were able to see some cool things yesterday.  We checked out the Buffalo Bill Dam (which is at the end of the Buffalo Bill Reservoir) and saw some interesting folks at Cody’s own Irma Hotel.

Mom & Dad at the Buffalo Bill Dam

Whoa! That’s a long way down!

Mom & I with a random statue in town

“Interesting” folks at the Irma Hotel

Keep a look out for tons of fun adventures on future posts as I live the dream!

Welcome to my life in Cody 🙂

7 responses to this post.

  1. Glad to see you are safe, sound, and (now) happy in your new home! Looks like I have a reason to come visit Wyoming now. 🙂 Good luck with all the unpacking and settling in your new surroundings, pretty lady!

    Reply

  2. Yay! Congratulations you made it! I’m looking forward to hearing more about your adventures in Cody! We’ll have to meet up and climb either in Wyo or Co soon!

    Reply

  3. Kristie- I can’t imagine the gorgeous landscapes you saw on that epic drive out there. I’m glad the rental unit finally worked out for you. I can’t wait to come visit you!!

    Reply

  4. Glad you’re all settled in 🙂 I remember relocating across the country not too long ago and I remember the challenges and rewards that come along with uprooting yourself from routine and friends and starting from scratch on a new adventure.

    Reply

  5. I don’t even know you but I’ve stayed at The Cody before and I saw your post on their page. Nicely done!!!! That’s an insprational story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

