Elk Creek Hike

So…what did you do on your Sunday?  I hope it was as much fun as mine 🙂

Sydney and I went on our very first hike here in Wyoming!  I could not have been more excited to get out and explore our new surroundings.

Ready to head for the hike!

It was so windy that there were whitecaps on the reservoir

It was only a short 5-6 mile hike, but it was in a gorgeous valley paralleling Elk Creek (which I swear should be called a river!) in the Wapiti District of the Shoshone National Forest.

One happy furry kiddo 🙂

During out hike we met two groups of horses and riders, which was interesting because normally when Sydney sees them through the car window he goes berserk!  Seriously, he barks so much that I often think I may go deaf (ok, slight exaggeration there…).  However this time, Sydney was so mesmerized with the beautiful views that he just sat there at watched them walk past us!

Beautiful shot looking across the “creek”

There were no sightings of bear on this hike for us, but we were prepared with my bear bell jingling away and my bear spray at the ready.

This is what happiness looks like

While this was our first of many hikes to come, Sydney and I enjoyed it despite the looming rain clouds and gusting winds (did I mention they were gusting up to  50 mph?!).  I hope you had a Sunday full of your own fun and adventure, whatever that may be to you 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by climbrunliftmom on June 11, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    Fun! Glad you got out and had a great hike 🙂 Looks like you and WY are off to a beautiful start.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

