Dead Indian Gulch Trail

Last Saturday Sydney and I went on a hike that was awe-inspiring as well as a tad bit terrifying.  First things first, though!  We drove north from Cody to the Chief Joseph Scenic Byway, which goes through the Shoshone National Forest with amazingly dramatic views, such as can be seen as you go over Dead Indian Pass.

Chief Joseph Scenic Byway after crossing Dead Indian Pass

We got to the trailhead for the Dead Indian Gulch Trail and set out on what would become a rather easy 10 mile hike.  We crossed open spaces with towering views and densely wooded areas.

Off we go!

Syd was looking for squirrels

Since we are deep in grizzly bear country, I always make sure I make lots of noise to include talking loudly to Sydney.  This hike was no different.  As we navigated our way through one particularly dense wood area, I heard a large snap as if a tree limb broke underfoot of an animal.  I quickly started talking to Sydney as we kept moving towards the end of the forested patch.  It was at this point that I heard what I refer to as a growl/huff sound.  I have since had my suspicions reaffirmed by many people working within the Shoshone National Forest….yup, that’s right folks, I was close enough to a bear to hear it even though we didn’t see it!

Gorgeous rapids on the Clarks Fork of the Yellowstone River…just after the bear scare!

We kept hiking and gave the animal more than enough time to clear the area before having to turn around and reenter the area.  However, this additional time did not set my nerves at ease, which remained on super high alert until we returned to the trailhead.

We made it back through the bear area!

Even though we had a slight scare on this hike, we were treated to one amazing sight after another…too bad I only had my phone to take pictures with!

Lupine is pretty fine!

3 responses to this post.

  1. That would definitely be a scare to be close enough to hear one. are you joining the #JMT2013 crew? this will be my first REAL adventure. I think its about time to own up to my dreams. but I gotta admit, the thought of wildlife scares me a little. 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nick Mac Donald on July 2, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Ran into a bull moose hiking in Utah once that was enough excitement for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

