My 1st Summit!!!!

I summited my first mountain as a Wyoming resident!  Sure it took me several hikes and almost a month to do it, but this Tuesday afternoon I did it!

Heart Mountain sits north of Cody and has a lot of history associated with it.  Even before there was an internment camp at the base of the mountain during WWII, it was rich in history.  As a mountain that literally moved 25 miles (wait what?!  You read that right!), this mountain has long been sacred to the Crow people.  Today it stands on land owned by the Nature Conservancy.  The Heart Mountain Hike is a pretty strenuous 8ish miles round trip and gains 2,650 vertical feet.

A view of Heart Mountain from Cody

Well, my friend Justin and I decided to conquer this mountain this past Tuesday.  I got out of work at 2pm, and we were hitting the trail by just after 3:45pm.  Sadly, it was 95 degrees when we started, so Sydney had to stay home.  He was not happy the last hot, long hike we went on, so I figured this was best for him.

To even get to the trailhead I had to drive a couple of miles of bumping dirt roads with huge rocks and dips waiting to ruin my car.  Luckily, the car (in case you didn’t know it is lovingly referred to Ty, which is short for Typhoon) made it there and back in perfect shape!

So we got to the trailhead and began making our way out and up, quickly.  There was no shade, and I learned the hard way that I had not drunk enough water during the day so as to be properly hydrated.

1st park of the hike…see, no shade!

After stopping several times for water and to regain my where-with-all, we finally made it to shade and I began to feel better.

Too cool not to take a picture of

During the hike, smoke from a few fires on the Bridger-Teton National Forest started blowing over Cody, and we saw some crazy looking skies.

Smoking covering the skies, looking towards Cody

More smoke coming in

The summit was worth the hike and then some…..

A view from the top!

This hike was a great because I pushed through that initial pain and heat to summit my first mountain!  It was truly an effort in pushing towards a goal which I had set even when that voice in the back of my head told me to just quit.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sheri Salzmann on July 7, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    I felt like I was there enduring the heat & ryness with you. But oh the joy of summiting a mountain… finally :). Thank you for keeping all of us posted on your great adventures.

    Me (aka Mom)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sheri Salzmann on July 7, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    oops make that “dryness” 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Joshua Riggins on July 7, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Congrats on the summit 🙂

    Reply

  4. Congrats on achieving your first summit! Must have been a fantastic feeling. 🙂 Can’t wait to read all about the many, many summits I’m sure will come your way in the future!

    Reply

  5. […] Haiku To-Go Bag « My 1st Summit!!!! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

