One woman, one tree, one amazing journey!

As most of you reading this know, I love my job.  No really, I LOVE my job!  In October, my already sweet Forest Service job took a turn towards amazing.  This year I was asked to help out with the media side of the 2012 Capitol Christmas Tree project.

Isn't it beautiful?!

Isn’t it beautiful?!

My love affair with trees comes from the days of climbing a tree in the yard at our home in WI and playing house under beautiful pines with my sister on our family farm.  The lights of the family Christmas tree were always a welcome addition to our living room as I would try to do homework by their light alone.  Fast forward a few years (alright maybe more than just a few) and I had the opportunity to go to the 2008 lighting of the National Christmas Tree (the one on the Ellipse outside the White House) with my sister.

2008 National Christmas Tree lighting

2008 National Christmas Tree lighting

Add in my new career in the agency directed with conserving some of the most beautiful places in our country, and my love affair is well-established.

Thanks to connections my boss has and a bit of magic, Sydney and I found ourselves back down in Colorado for a month.  This time we were located in Glenwood Springs, at the edge of the Roaring Fork Valley, since that is where the supervisor’s office is for the White River National Forest.  This year’s tree would come from this gorgeous area.

After a few weeks of crazy work days, I got to finally see THE tree 🙂  At this point in time, I was one of maybe 20 people who knew the exact location and the exact tree which would become the 2012 Capitol Christmas Tree!

Me and the tree!

Me and the tree!

I won’t bore you with all of the work details, but suffice it to say, I was totally in my element!  I know some people disagree with the Capitol Christmas Tree tradition, but I love it and was so proud to be a part of it from pre-planning to harvest to tree lighting on the West Lawn of the U.S. Capitol.

A "floating" tree

A “floating” tree

Oh not much just posing with Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell ;)

Oh not much just posing with Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell 😉

Officially lit!

Officially lit!

Are there any Christmas traditions which make you all happy inside? 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. My favorite tradition is reading The Night Before Christmas with my mom and brother. Doesn’t happen much anymore because we’re not always all together for Christmas, but that’s one that stands out to me. It’s simple, but a fave.

    And I think the Capitol Christmas tree is a pretty cool tradition. I know I shouldn’t, but I do anyway! So cool you got to be a part of it this year.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sheri Salzmann on December 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    An awesome post Kristie. I can feel your enthusiasm with each word along the way. Can’t wait to see you for Christmas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

