Wild Wyoming

I developed a very special place in my heart for Colorado while I was there this past fall for a few work trips, and I absolutely love the feet of beautiful powder I recently experienced in Utah (the latest of many things I love about that state).  However, this weekend I was reminded of the pure beauty and serenity that can be found here in Wyoming.

While I know I could likely have found desolate places in both Colorado and Utah, my times there have been with friends or always on trails frequented by others.  Here, just outside of Cody, I can find my own personal slice of utopia, a piece of heaven away from others where the silence of my mind can be at the forefront (especially with bears being dormant right now ;)).

This past Saturday, I piled Sydney into the car and headed west to the Shoshone National Forest.

My lovely winter playground

My lovely winter playground

I wasn’t sure where we would head to hike; I simply knew that I needed the sense of clarity only nature gives me.  We stopped at the Ishawooa (pronounced Ish-awa) Trailhead and decided to head out onto the trail. While we did not see a single person, and only one bunny, on the entire 5-6 mile hike, we were treated to amazing views of the Ishawooa Creek valley.

Looking down into the stunning Ishawooa Creek valley

Looking down into the stunning Ishawooa Creek valley

I found my pease

I found my peace

And Sydney found this wooden box

And Sydney found this wooden box

This hike helped me clear my mind, center my heart and soul, and remind me to not overlook the beauty that may be hidden in our own backyard.

Together, we found our joy

Together, we found our joy

2 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful pictures! 🙂

    Reply

  2. We all need a little of that, Kristie. I found a little solitude here in the trails of Nova Scotia today. Love you, chica.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

