The Rogue is forever in my heart

Every once in a while you are fortunate enough to have an experience that is so fantastic that it can take some time to really wrap your brain around it.  It can take time to put your thoughts and feelings into words which will truly express how profound of an experience you have had. 

We are the #OmniTen!! (picture courtesy of David Creech)

We are the #OmniTen!! (picture courtesy of David Creech)

As my fellow #Omniten friends began posting their write-ups on our awesomesauce (that’s just for you Krystl!) trip with Columbia Sportswear, I found myself flailing to find a way to express what the trip meant to me.  After almost a month, I have finally come to the point where I have found the right words:

THANK YOU!!

Thank you to the guides from Rogue Wilderness Adventures for being amazing, telling good jokes, sharing stories of flaming salmon spears, cooking superb food, and “allowing” us to jump off things when your backs were turned 😉

Thank you to the team from Columbia Sportswear.  Daniel, Krystl, Katie, Kristen, Mark, and Becca: You made the experience of rafting the Rogue River one I will truly never forget.  Not only do you do amazing work, but I am happy and proud to now call you my friends.

Day 1: Leaving the hotel, paddling lessons, I climbed rocks, we drank beers on inflatable couches, and Ducky Wars were born! (pictures courtesy of Columbia Sportswear and Mark Going

Day 1: Leaving the hotel, paddling lessons, I climbed rocks, we drank beers on inflatable couches, and Ducky Wars were born! (pictures courtesy of Columbia Sportswear and Mark Going)

Thank you to Columbia Sportswear for picking me to be a part of such a great adventure with amazing people and stunning views.  Thank you for allowing me to become a part of your #Omnifamily and for trusting me to be a part of your online reviewing team.  Thank you for the oodles of amazing gear.  Thank you for being the company that you are, focused on real people living everyday adventures in the name of #tryingstuff.

Day 2: Morning coffee, I can teach you how to Ducky, we saw bears, we made it through the "Coffeepot"!, and no campfires allowed, no problem (pictures courtesy of Columbia Sportswear and Mark Going)

Day 2: Morning coffee, I can teach you how to Ducky, we saw bears, we made it through the “Coffeepot”!, and no campfires allowed, no problem (pictures courtesy of Columbia Sportswear and Mark Going)

Thank you to my #Omniten family for reminding me that by taking chances, jumping off things, paddling through Class III rapids in a Ducky (inflatable kayak), creating Ducky Wars, and enjoying good ol’ camp shenanigans, I will always be me, a “fearless” woman 🙂

Day 3: No one wants to leave the river, we saw amazing sights, beer on the river for no reason :), I smiled A LOT, and Aleya lived the easy life (pictures courtesy of Columbia Sportswear and Mark Going)

Day 3: No one wanted to leave the river, we saw amazing sights, beer on the river no reason needed, I smiled A LOT, and Aleya lived the easy life (pictures courtesy of Columbia Sportswear and Mark Going)

My three days on the Rogue, as well as the time in Grants Pass with the entire crew, were full of memorable moments through which I believe I have strengthened and established lifelong friendships.  After all, isn’t that what #tryingstuff is all about?  Getting out of your normal comfort zone and doing something different is what it means to me…what does it mean to you?

9 responses to this post.

  1. Easily one of the best trips I’ve been on, and it’s mostly because everyone on it was just like you, Kristie: cool, adventurous, crazy, smart and fun, all with a side of awesomesauce. 🙂

    Can’t wait until our paths cross again.

    Reply

  2. And Thank YOU, Kristie, for bringing a healthy dose of awesomesauce to the Rogue 😉

    Reply

  3. Aw. This is about the sweetest thing ever. I’m sl glad to hear you all had so much fun!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Aaron DeSilva on September 11, 2013 at 10:31 am

    It was such an awesome trip. As a guide, we run so many trips that we forget which one was what. I will always remember this trip, forever. Not just because it was the Columbia trip but because all of you were such amazing people and so much fun to be with. A trip like this one is a guide’s dream. I hope that all of our rivers cross again.

    Reply

  5. Don’t know how I didn’t see this till now….but so glad you guys had a great time. The photos looked like so much fun!

    Reply

  6. […] part of another Columbia Sportswear event.  If you will recall, I had a life-changing trip on the Rogue River this summer.  Well in true #tryingstuff style, Columbia Sportswear brought all four seasons […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

