A move forward

FYI, this one is a bit personal 🙂

“Single”

The first definition of single in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary is “not having or including another.” But if you look a little further, something happens and you find this definition: “having no equal or like.”  I tend to like this second definition better.

As I look around the corner at 35 (eek yes, I just admitted my age for the entire world to see!), I find myself in the place of the first definition.  I had thought I would never again use this definition of single with respect to myself, but alas, with less than a month of 2015 under my belt, I am just that, single.

BUT, and this is a big one, as I see the true light of things begin to emerge and realize the betrayals of those in my past, I realize that I am not alone and am indeed not without another.  I have absolutely AMAZING family and friends, who have once again proven that they will be there for me through thick and thin alike.  So while I may not have a romantic partner, I have more “others” than I could’ve ever truly hoped for.

These are just some of the amazing people in my life

These are just some of the amazing people in my life

On top of all of that, I am beginning to once again see my individual, single worth.  I do have no equal or like because we are all different and special.  I had seemingly begun to lose that reality, but you better believe I have it back in full strength!

Sadness passes, hearts mend, and forgiveness comes. Along with those, acceptance begins; acceptance of the past and belief that the future will be amazing. As I say goodbye and move on from past things, I believe that 2015 will be an amazing year filled with adventure, happiness, peace, and forward movement!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul (Mr. Adventure) on January 21, 2015 at 11:20 am

    Have a great new year, full of adventure, friends, family and hope!

    Reply

  2. I’m so sorry that you’re going through this hard time; readjusting to being single can be really really hard but I’ve found that in a lot of ways it’s empowered me to chase the things that *I* really want while all of those “others” are there supporting me.

    I’m excited for big things from you.

    All the hugs from me and SP.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

